the PEEP SHOW: Daily Prompt | Rain, that old chestnut…

Safe inside, toasty warm, while water pitter-patters on the roof… describe your perfect, rainy afternoon.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us RAIN.

Rain isn’t hard to come by in the UK, so we’re pretty much always prepared for it, in fact because it’s so common, this prompt doesn’t really make any sense to me. However I’d rather be at home than outside in the rain, and when it’s a particularly dull day on a weekend when things are quiet then I’ll stick on a movie. Any movie would do, but a preference would be an old western or comedy from the ‘golden era’ or a family movie type film like The Mummy or Indiana Jones. Anything I can really get lost in. 

I have picture rain here before, but I wanted to show a different take on the word; when I was in the Opening Ceremony show last year the sequence I was in included an introduction to the games and the inevitable display of the 5 rings:

RAIN

I didn’t take the photo because, as I mentioned I was on the stage, but my best friend did. During rehearsals, the director and production team used in-ear microphones to direct our sequences in the massive stadium space and one of the prompts during that Danny Boyle would use was “and the olympic rings will rain down sparks, so be careful” . I thought the view from up close was mesmerising, but this is spectacular. 

photo taken by my  dear friend, Onomé Otite

Check out the other rain prompts

3 thoughts on “the PEEP SHOW: Daily Prompt | Rain, that old chestnut…

  1. Pingback: daily prompt: singing in the rain – without the singing | memoirs of an unremarkable man
  2. Pingback: Forever Rain (short fiction) | The Jittery Goat
  3. Pingback: MESSY SHEETS | hastywords

Leave a Reply

