the UNCATEGORISED: Daily Prompt | Take Care

When you’re unwell, do you allow others to take care of you, or do you prefer to soldier on alone? What does it take for you to ask for help?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us HELP.

I figured, this is going to be a short post, so I guess I’ll add a photo in at the bottom.

YES. I am a middle child, starved of attention* and so I demand that it is showered upon me the minute I feel a tickle in my throat. I can’t soldier on alone. I won’t soldier on alone. No one offered any soldier chicken soup and a box set of [insert your preference here]  Psych  or re-runs of Diagnosis Murder to watch. I just would like to clarify:  I’m eternally grateful and lucky to be relatively healthy in general – and I don’t like getting sick because the process is so dull and 99.9 % unnecessary –  but I do enjoy the perks that can (should you want it) come with it. Or maybe, and I suspect this is the case, I am just lucky to have the family I have around me who want to take care of me**. Lord knows it’s one of the downfalls of being the middle child, that I am also chastised for being the one prone to illnesses.

*all of this is steeped in sarcasm, middle children are probably the most spoilt, because everyone feels bad for us. We get hand me downs, we get told to grow up and set an example. No one wants to play with you but everyone can’t wait to tell you what you did wrong. Ironically you’re always the last to know anything: how does this happen? you’re in the middle, you should know everything.

**Although recently, my dad’s made a few comments that leads me to suspect he’s bored of it now, like my mum was after i turned 5…I’m scared guys. He’s like my only consistent rock.

HELP

What: Boris Johnson Mayor of London, looking more like a bumbling fool than ever (heart you BJ)

When: Amidst the Olympic fever in London 2012

Where: Jubilee Gardens, London Eye.

Collages

This has got to be the funniest example of a person in need of help. I remember reading it on the tube and laughing so hard. I remember because everyone who had a paper was laughing, and sharing it (this would be one of those rare moments in London where commuters would happily look at one another without turning into stone). I never really got to thank our Mayor for uniting the people of his city in laughing at him, and his pesky antics…again. 

click to see  the other entries

7 thoughts on “the UNCATEGORISED: Daily Prompt | Take Care

  1. Pingback: Take Care, Daily Prompt | Edward Hotspur
  2. This is really fascinating, You’re an excessively skilled blogger. I’ve joined your rss
    feed and stay up for searching for more of your magnificent post.
    Additionally, I have shared your website in my social networks

  3. Pingback: Pride | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me
  4. Pingback: Pride | Kick-Ass Ireland!

Leave a Reply

