the UNCATEGORISED: Daily Prompt | Silver Linings

Write about something you consider “ugly” — war, violence, failure, hatred — but try to find beauty, or a sense of hope, in your thoughts.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us UGLY.

Ugly = decay.

Yes, I know – who doesn’t? WRONG. What I mean is I actually have a phobia of rotting food. If I see what looks like a tomato with a slight bit of white or green fluff sprouting from it, you will usually hear me scream but you will not see me for dust. I can’t even look at the stuff on a screen without feeling dizzy and scared*

Is this fear related to ugly? Yes, because not one of those books or cartoons when growing up showed me that a perfectly brown loaf of bread also came with an edge of white and green – “mmm yummy!” said no one, ever. It’s not even how I was brought up, on the contrary this is all me, no one in my family has this severe aversion.

Ah, my family. Long time secondary sufferers, mainly because when I am faced with rotting food I choose to: exit the room very quickly; cry; or throw the food away. I hasten to add not in the bin, no there is never time for me to act like a level-headed adult.If I unknowingly pick a fruit with mould on it, and you are anywhere near me, I will throw it and run. Chances are you will be hit – I have an exceptionally great (but unintentional) ability to aim at a human target without looking – this is all a reflex reaction.

Silver linings in the loosest terms.

In a backwards way though I love blue cheeses. I could chomp on them happily without a shudder. However if I see it’s past its way off its sale by date I’m dubious. I can’t tell what’s new scary mould and whats the stuff that was packaged the day I bought it. The other way I can tolerate rotting food is in the knowledge that it’s key to making compost. I like to think this will help me buy food in moderation and force me not to waste food…

UGLY UGLY UGLY

*which is why you will not be seeing a photo of it on here. EVER.

6 thoughts on “the UNCATEGORISED: Daily Prompt | Silver Linings

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Silver Linings | writinglikeastoner
  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Silver Linings – Failure | My.Vivid.Visions
  3. Pingback: Some Can Even Find Good In Bigotry (a poem) | The Jittery Goat
  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt; Silver Linings | terry1954
  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Clouds Have A Silver Lining | My Daily Prompt Blog
  6. Pingback: Silver Linings | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Leave a Reply

