the UNCATEGORISED: Daily Prompt | Second Time Around

by michelle w. on April 25, 2013

Tell us about a book you can read again and again without getting bored — what is it that speaks to you?

 

I could read the Witches again and again (so far 4 times). It’s got to be one of the most frightening, bizarre and funniest books i’ve ever read, and I haven’t changed that view since first reading it when I was like 11 years old.

I like to remember the way l the way I felt then when I look at the cover; I liked the odd Quentin Blake illustrations that accompany’s the text. I love the chapter where the unnamed narrator’s (a technique that also struck me as genius)  grandmamma explains the sad story of the little girl who was put into a painting, eventually growing old and dying –  I mean, what a way not to patronise children – I felt like I learnt a lot about coming to terms with death and things not always having a happy ending reading Witches; I also, as macabre as it sounds, kind of realised that women were not all rosie, and adults were just older humans, sometimes even stupid and mean. Lemony Snicket is perhaps the only author who has come close, but Roald Dahl’s stories were my favourite. Witches especially.

 

I can’t wait to pass on my copy. I hope i don’t scar my offspring for life though…

 

Here are some other bloggers with their second time round choices: http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/04/25/daily-prompt-books/

2 thoughts on “the UNCATEGORISED: Daily Prompt | Second Time Around

Leave a Reply

