the PEEP SHOW weekend: IMAGES 36

This weekend was all about getting back on track to my inspirations and aspirations. Storytelling through illustration, fairy-tales, fantasy, colours and crazy. There’s something to be said about illustrations. It’s so magical and uncensored and all kinds of weird It’s sometimes too overwhelming to deal with.

Somerset house hosted Images 36: Best of British Illustration 2012, a wonderful exhibition of illustration adorning its walls,  showcasing new and established talent. I saw some ugly images and some wonderful ones that reminded me of my childhood reads.

There were more but these artists and these images stood out for me.

Rod Hunt: Images display like a Where’s Wally picture book. This image in particular, which he won a Gold award for in the Books Category, is set in a bustling market town in Nigeria. Its brilliant. Every character is doing something different.

Richard Johnson: Isn’t it beautiful? I could look at this spooky fantastical woodland all day. I want to know where Mr Mole is going to end up – can’t he see those sinister eyes in the trees? I kind of want him to go down that dark path. The palette is so soft and contrast to the spook it’s quiet a smooth picture.

Anuska Allepuz: This reminds me of an old copy of Aesop’s Fables and a Jungle book picture book I had when I was a child. I think her images hark back to the style of old, 1970s maybe? So simple and the use of shapes and lines creates something altogether more intense. 

Kristyna Litten: This is more of what I see in children’s illustrations. It’s like its all done with colouring pencils, the digital finishing is so subtle. I also like how its formatted, with the story happening within the images. Interactive somewhat.

Chris Haughton: I love Chris Haughton’s work. George the dog is one of his best characters to date. His vacuous  expressions make children and adults laugh. I love the garish colours, I really love George’s snout. My friend rightly pointed out that perhaps why he is so popular with children is because it looks like a child had gotten hold of Microsoft Paint and had a go at drawing – but maybe in a more…bridled way. That’s not an easy thing to emulate.

Although it’s over in Somerset house the exhibition will begin a national tour continuing into 2013.
Venues confirmed so far include Blackpool & Fylde College, Swansea Metropolitan University, Middlesex University and University for the Creative Arts, Maidstone.

Leave a Reply

