TRIPPY TUESDAY | MAJOR LAZER ft. AMBER of the DIRTY PROJECTORS – GET FREE

I loved Major Lazer  (with Switch)- I loved the cocky spin master that is Diplo (yum – but can we address his accent? what is it exactly?) but I loved Major Lazer’s output better. Now after all that “Pon De Floor” hype (amazing beat and forever will be, say what you want about Bey, I love her still) the newly formed Dj project (minus Switch but with Jillionaire) collaborate  with one of the most intriguing voices out there on the music scene. Amber from here is on the below. I heart this girl’s voice so much, it’s so sweet maybe even a little sickly but ever since this song I’ve been hooked on Dirty Projectors output. Amber of the Dirty Projectors voice is always so out-of-place on tracks, I don’t know why but I always feel she’s just pretending, like she’s making it up and someone has accidentally recorded a tune under her voice and hey presto! It’s a little off but I find myself listening over.

Get Free sees her sweet tone over a dancehall video and reggae beats. It’s so mellow and so exciting all at once. It’s all one big contradiction the DJ, the singing and the lyrics and the video. I love it so much I want to hug it.

Leave a Reply

