the Uncategorised: OPEN LETTER to ELLE magazine

ELLE

After a day of flicking through my ELLE magazine I realised I wasn’tfeeling the usual mass of contentment that comes with being inspired and proud of UK talent. Instead I was left feeling a little frustrated. I decided to attack …with an open letter; see what plausible response I would get back:

 To which upon the first post, I received nothing.Ok. People be busy, I understand. So using all media training I have, I persisted – sent another. I received this response:

You may think I’m hankering on and kicking up a fuss about nothing, I am. That’s the problem. The nothing in question is the lack of representation in these well known magazines in the UK that do very little to exploit the multicultral talent we have in this country. Take their ELLE woman of the year awards. I can count on two fingers the women of colour covered in that feature. Whenever they boast UK up and coming talent it’s always white faces I see. It’s boring. Kudos to those who are being promoted – that’s not the issue – the issue is that there is a serious lack of other UK talents from differing ethnicities being celebrated. Do I really have to work hard get somewhere in life  and show them how? I’m going to send one to Marie Claire and see what they come up with. At least the staff at ELLE recognise that their is a problem. I look forward to seeing the Zawe Ashton and Emeli Sande interview. However a consistent spot for make-up and hair would also be nice – which is what (I posted about it here) Marie Claire did at one stage but have since abandoned this.

*RE the feature image above this post: Under-representation of UK women of different races – apart from the odd appearance from one of their black in house editors, the beautiful Donna Wallace.
Image is taken from Taylor Made: Phill Taylor professional fashion photographer’s blog; and can be found here http://philltaylorblog.blogspot.com/2011_02_01_archive.html

3 thoughts on “the Uncategorised: OPEN LETTER to ELLE magazine

  1. Pingback: the UNCATEGORISED: ONE SMALL STEP… « AND she said.
  2. Pingback: the UNCATEGORISED: ONE SMALL STEP… | the TRASH BASH
  3. Pingback: the UNCATEGORISED | OPEN LETTER TO ELLE TAKE 2 | the TRASH BASH

Leave a Reply

